top-right

Danbury Dog Training Reviews | Bark Busters Reviews

We are new parents to 8 month old Zeus, rescued Pit bull, who is adorable and pretty much did whatever he wanted with us and we had no idea how to stop him. Before we invited Mike to our home, there was a lot of jumping up on people, constant jumping on the counters, beds, chewing, biting, pulling and running around the house like a maniac. Zeus pretty much crossed all the lines and tested us with his uncontrollable behavior. I was afraid that his biting could get out of control, since he has no idea how hard he really bites and thinks all is a game time, and one day he could hurt someone. Our poor mail man had to stop and walk away any time he saw Zeus on the street. It was not a good attribute but we did not know what to do to change it. All trainers, books and websites that we visited teach different techniques and it was all time consuming and pretty much useless as Zeus would still not listen to us. It all ended within 10 minutes after Mike walked into our home. I felt like he put a spell on Zeus as he listened to him right away and for more importantly he listened to us too. I cannot imagine keeping Zeus if it wasn't for Mike's help and extremely positive reinforcement!!! I could finally hug and kiss Zeus without being afraid that he would bite my ear off. Zeus is a completely different dog! Mike went over a few basic rules with us, showed us some techniques and pretty much was out the door within an hour leaving us with a brand new pet! This training REALLY WORKS!!!! We are extremely grateful for all your help!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you so much Mike!!!!!
Violet & Michael K., Stamford, Connecticut 24th December 2013


Awesome Puppy visit with Mike! My 8 1/2 week Cavapoo is a doll, but like any other pup likes to chew and mark his spot. In just a little over an hour I was puppy trained - and Avanti hasn't nipped my hands or feet in 5 days. Thanks Mike! Can't wait til our next lesson!
Kara J., Bridgeport, Connecticut 23rd December 2013


Who says you can't teach an old dog new tricks??? We were at our wits end when we adopted our new dog Jack. Michael has been instrumental in transforming an unruly, frightened, and largely unmanageable rescue dog into a well-behaved and welcome member of our household. For example, when Jack first arrived to our home, he constantly jumped up on us and when my husband approached, he ran away from him and cowered in a corner of our kitchen, refusing to move. He was also displaying a lot of aggression and growling at him. Michael's help has been invaluable in Jack's transformation, by helping us understand Jack's fear and how to gain his trust. It has been only 4 weeks since Michael first came to our house and now Jack and David are best friends! While Jack is still in the process of learning more complex commands, we know that Michael will continue to guide us on how to help Jack learn them. Kudos on a job well done!
Dave &., Fairfield, Connecticut 12th December 2013


I rescued a 5 year old Doberman Pinscher, Rita, a few months ago. She would never relax - always whining and pacing - and always on guard, in and outside of the house. When Michael came, within minutes of working with Rita, her demeanor completely changed. She actually left the room and lied down on her bed, on her own. When we did a walking lesson, she went from high alert to not taking her eyes off of me - it was such a drastic and wonderful change within minutes. You can tell Michael really cares about what he does, understands dogs and really wants to help you be happy with your dog. Give him a call!
Katie B., Stamford, Connecticut 11th November 2013


Mike is an absolute expert. No one I have ever met that claims to know dogs, truly knows and understands the psychology of dogs the way Mike does. He gave me an incredible understanding for the way I need to communicate with my dog Chief, and it has immensely improved his behavior at home and outside of the house as well. All of this was achieved without doing anything harmful or fearful to my dog. I actually believe Chief loves me more after our lesson! Chief used to jump all over guests and myself when sitting on the couch, now he respects my personal space and sits off to the side like a well mannered boy! The techniques Mike has shown me have let Chief know that I am the leader of the pack and he knows this now. He walks into rooms and out of doorways after me, he even has been heeling properly on a leash! I give mike a 5 out of 5 star rating, and I cannot wait to schedule my next appointment with him to see what else I can go over with my dog chief! rock on Mike. Thank you!
Nicholas H., Fairfield, Connecticut 2nd November 2013


I'm the type of person who has to see it to believe it....and let me tell you I've read my share of articles/books/testimonials of "dog whisperers" claiming to work magic on dogs but it took this experience for me to REALLY BELIEVE IT!!! I've had my VIZSLA JACK (a very hyper and active athletic dog) for three years now. As good as I "thought" he was I recently started seeing Jack's habits change due to my new schedule of waking up at 5am. Naturally I thought he was just acting out and seeking attention by destructive behavior, but it got progressively worse and it was giving me extreme anxiety because I didn't know what to do anymore. The worst part is, I wasn't living by myself...I have two other roommates who were feeling the wrath of Jack's untrained behavior. I had heard of Mike's training techniques and of his highly reputable concept on dog training for a while and figured in a hope of desperation that something would help my dog....ANYTHING! Little did I know that Mike would change my life with my dog and with the dynamics of our home. I honestly can say within moments of Mike using his technique the direction in "pack leader" of our relationship (mine and jack) had instantly changed. The way Mike explained everything and showed some of the preliminary lessons really made an impact mentally within myself, but even more it proved concrete evidence of changes in Jack. I was completely flabbergasted that my dog who had done all of these annoying acts of dominance, was now being a subordinate and listening to me EVEN AFTER MIKE left my home. Its been three days and I work with Jack 30 mins - 1 hour each day (much more than Mike suggests) but I can say he is a completely different dog and now has the ability to become what I always hoped Jack would be (A SHOW DOG)! I have taken my time with Mike seriously and have utilized all the tools hes given me to make a better environment for my little boy and myself and of course our roommates. I wish I could say it was all in my head but when I had visitors only two days after Jack's first meeting with Mike and heard them say "omg he's like a different dog" I knew that it was all worth it!!! Thank you soo much Mike and I am so excited to see what Jack will do with all this new energy placed in the right places :)!!
Marcella B., Stamford, Connecticut 25th October 2013


We never would have learned that our behaviors were actually triggering, negative behaviors in our dogs! Without the knowledge, skills and expertise that Michael brought our family, we were heading in bad directions (and have been for years). We were will killing with love! Who knew such a thing could be so distructive, but, our family was being walked all over by our controlling dogs! 2 Yorkshire Terrior's, male, Rocky and Rudy and one Chinese Crested name Fifi. They had their life altering lesson just yesterday. We are applying the learned behaviors, every change we get and here are some things, within 24 hours that DO NOT happen anymore. When a knock at the door or doorbell rings, my pet's sit and wait for me to answer the door and no longer bark to the point of insanity, aggrevating neighbors. When we want them to join us on the the furniture, they are invited now. Also, they no longer walk all over us and BARK at us, demanding treat time. Can you belive they dictactated to US when treat time would be? Yes, and we let it happen. Next, the Chinese Crested and Queen Bee - has a horrible seperation anxiety issue. She literally use to scream when we left the house. Now, using techniques by Michael, and he did have to teach us to be IN CHARGE - Miss Fifi has "time out" in her room - we follow that with some behaviors that allow her to know, she is not attached to us and there is a seperation between us and she is now quiet. I never thought I'd ever say that. Our dogs are getting up there in age. Not puppies. We thought "you cannot teach an old dog new tricks". The best news of all, is YES, in fact you can with the right trainer and thearpy! We are living a more comfortable life as we are back to being the owners of our home and our pets. Also, worth mentioning, one of the Yorkshire Terriors was blind and I was very worried about him, because, he can not "see" what some of the techniques were - but Michael had a solution for my poor Blind Rocky - and even his barking insanity has changed! Thanks MICHAEL!!!
Marybeth M., Black Rock, Bridgeport, CT, Connecticut 25th October 2013


George is a fourth month old labradoodle. Our biggest concern with George is biting and jumping. Michael explained the training techniques clearly and now George is well on his way to being a well behaved puppy. I was amazed at how quickly George learned to no longer bite or jump. Michael also helped tremendously with the house training. His ideas on how to house train George really worked. George is more relaxed now as a result of the training and we are having a great time with our new puppy. Thank you, Michael!
Patty B., Fairfield, Connecticut 19th September 2013


Michael did an amazing job! I have a yorkie and a chihuahua who love to bark. Not only was he able to calm them but he showed me how to calm them. He also showed me how to resolve my chihuahuas issue with going to the bathroom in the house. By time he left my dogs were completely relaxed. I'm looking forward to enjoying peace and quiet with my behaved dogs! Thanks Michael !
Gina T., Fairfield, Connecticut 3rd September 2013


Charlie is almost two years old. He's a beagle/english bulldog mix. Charlie has alot of energy and a very stubborn streak. He barks and jumps when people come over, he steals anything he can get his paws on off the kitchen table, and his most annoying habit is begging for food. After meeting with Mike for our first lesson, I can honestly say that tonight was the first night in over a year and a half that I was able to eat my dinner in peace! Charlie did not beg once! I am absolutely amazed at what a change I already see in Charlie's behaviors. He learned in our first lesson to walk next to me, not pull me down the street. He also made great strides in not barking and jumping when visitors come to the door. Mike's techniques were easy to follow and gave instant results. I could not be more pleased with the progress Charlie has made in such little time!
Katie D., Black Rock, Connecticut 22nd August 2013


Zoe is an adorable rescue dog I adopted this past May, 2013. She followed me around everywhere, non-stop. She was attached to me like glue, making sure I was always within eye range of her. I thought this was because of her past and that she was going through terrible separation anxiety. The situation became worst when I would leave home and she would then start crying and howling until I returned. I live in a condo environment and my neighbors began complaining. I thought I might not be able to keep her if I couldn't fix her anxiety issues. Mike explained the mentality of a pack, who is the leader and why. He gave me training exercises to practice daily with Zoe. It is amazing to see how Zoe responded to him within a few minutes and then when I mimicked Mike's behavior, Zoe responded the same to me. I was becoming so stressed out before contacting Mike. Now I want to cry with joy. Mike is continuing to work with me and showing me how to become the leader of our twosome pack. He is very knowledgeable, confident and passionate about what he does. THANK YOU SO MUCH, MIKE.
Linda M., Stamford, Connecticut 15th August 2013


Our dog, Cornelius' barking had gotten so bad when anybody came to visit that we did not know what to do. (Unless we became hermits, which was not our first choice). So I called my vet who recommended we put in an SOS to Michael. Michael worked with Cornelius to stop barking at friends and visitors using no painful restraints or hurtful devices. Just loving guidance and my dog and family are all happier today. Thanks to Michael's techniques, Corn no longer feels like he has to be "top dog" in our house anymore and can be the kind of pet we always wanted. Thanks a million Michael! Meredith Post Norwalk, CT
Meredith P., Norwalk, Connecticut 7th August 2013


I recently rescued a Chihuahua. He was a really sweet dog once he got to know you, but I was feeling very overwhelmed and concerned because he would get uncontrollable if someone he didn't know was near. My other Chihuahua started picking up on his behaviors and both of them were more than a handful. I don't know what I would have done without Mike's help!! He really helped me learn why both dogs were acting the way they did and what I could do to get them to stop. Within one visit both dogs were acting so much better in general and with each other. THANK YOU MIKE!!
Jessica, Fairfield, Connecticut 3rd July 2013


Thanks goodness for Mike he changed my dog boaty within minutes! He taught me exactly how to train my dog the proper way and what a difference it has made. Boaty was asleep in his crate five minutes after Mike left and hasn't barked either. Thank you mike you have changed my dog and my life as well, I finally have peace in my house.
Caroline, Fairfield, Connecticut 20th June 2013


At the time I had a 5 month old Pitbull Boxer mix and he was a riot! So I looked online for a long time trying to find the right dog trainer to help me get my puppy under control. I finally found Mike on Bark Busters and his reviews seemed very good so I decided to give it a shot. I called and we had set something up within the week. As soon as Mike came into my house he completely calmed my puppy down and showed me how do it so that it would be easy for me to understand. After the first visit I have not needed to call for another appointment because my puppy is just so well behaved and is such a pleasure to be with. I couldn't be any happier with the way my dog has turned out and calling Mike for help was the best choice I could have made for training purposes.
Dennis Schmeiler, Greenwich, Connecticut 16th May 2013


I can not believe the instant turn around in my dog Meatball. It was incredible. After 10 minutes he was listening to commands. Meatball is half pit bull half bulldog, he is very strong...I was used to him pulling me around but after one session with Mike he now knows how to walk on a leash. I am so happy with the transformation with Meatball and I look forward to the years that will be shared with him instead of worrying that I will never be able to take him for long walks!!! Thank you Mike!!!
Corinne, Bridgeport, Connecticut 10th May 2013


Luna was barking at every little thing, within 30 minutes of Mike's help, Luna calmed down stopped barking and jumping all over him. I look forward utilizing his method and changing Luna's behavior 100%.
Pam, Bridgeport 30th April 2013


If I hadn't experienced it first-hand, I wouldn't have believed it. I was able to get my eight-year-old Viszla to stop barking at a knock at the door, put her in a sit and experience a calm, controlled entry of a visitor to my home. Will wonders never cease...and that's not even why I asked for Mike's help! Originally, my adopted pit bull had become fearful and anxious, and I was feeling extremely concerned and frustrated. When Mike explained the dynamics of dog behavior and pack mentality, it became apparent to me how much my pit bull was reacting to my older/female Viszla's pack leader mentality because I was not performing in that capacity. I have owned several dogs, but was turned off to formal dog training after participation in a dog obedience school where the trainer wrestled my dog to the ground to "gain dominance". Needless to say, I never went back. Mike walked into my home and within half an hour, there was a sense of control that was coming from a human and not a dog, and Mike never touched my dogs unless to pet and praise them. Mike has renewed my faith in how important dog training is and what a positive experience it can be!
Penny Schroeder, Bridgeport 27th April 2013


We have only met with Michael twice, but he has already made such a difference in our lives and our dogs' lives. We have a new pup in the house who caused a whirlwind of excitement (and frustration!) for us, and we were just at a loss. We love our pets so much and were so upset to think that he may not be happy or feel safe in his new home. We wanted to find a trainer who understands the importance of pets in the family. Michael understands this so well! We instantly clicked with him and we instantly saw results in our pups. Michael's demeanor is calm, collected, confident, compassionate, and extremely personable (and dog-able!) The exercises are so simple and effective, it's hard to believe this method has been around for so long without knowing about it. We are so excited to continue work with Michael and our dogs until we have a perfect little pack that is happy, healthy, and safe. Thank you, Michael!
Anna DeVeau-Jalbert, -Jalbert 12th April 2013


Stella is my heart and I only want the best for her, therefore I reached out to Mike regarding training. Mike not only demonstrated commands to my pup Stella, he also took into consideration (her best friend & cousin) my sisters pup, Otis. Within the first 20 minutes of our first session, Stella became more obedient and aware of her surroundings. It's safe to safe Stella has enough energy to last a life time however I wanted to effectively manage what I expect out of her and what she expects out of me. Mike made it very clear if your pup does not see you as their leader, they will take full control. Since the training session, Stella has become more relaxed around others and myself while continuing to act as the happy & loving German Pinscher she is. What Mike accomplished in a single session is astonishing!! I would recommend Mike to anyone in need of pup obedience training. Mike, Stella and I truly appreciate your help and could not be happier! Best of luck and much continued success with the business!
Tiffany, Fairfield 26th March 2013




Go to top